Benjamin K. Webb
Executive Vice President, COO

Benjamin K. Webb Executive Vice President, COO

"Ben" began his careerin 1980 as an independent landman working for various oil & gas companies, lease brokerage firms and telecommunication firms. During this period, Ben performed a variety of land related functions on a contract basis, including oil & gas lease negotiation and acquisition, title research and curative, producing property acquisition and divestiture due diligence, and telecommunication systems tower site negotiation and acquisition. In 1988, he formed Ben K. Webb, Inc., and became a “lead broker”, as well as President and CEO of the firm. Ben K. Webb, Inc. performed various land functions for a diverse clientele, supervising in excess of 30 field landmen. In 1990, Ben joined Union Pacific Resources Company in Fort Worth as a Senior Landman for their Central Texas Austin Chalk group. Ben handled all in-house land duties for a geographic area, including parts of Burleson and Brazos Counties, Texas. In early 1993, Ben resigned, reactivated Ben K. Webb, Inc., and moved his family back to Houston. The firm resumed its contract land operations in virtually all of the major producing basins of the lower 48 states. In 1999, Ben met David Shannon at a Houston Association of Professional Landmen function, and soon thereafter their partnership was formed. As a principal of WSH, Ben's role is to manage a variety of field and due diligence projects. Ben is an active member of the American Association of Professional Landmen, Houston Association of Professional Landmen, Independent Petroleum Association of America, and the International Right-of-Way Association. In 1991, Ben earned by examination the designation of Certified Professional Landman #4742. In June 2010, Ben was elected to serve a two year term on the Board of Directors of the HAPL. He is also a Life Member of the Texas Exes Alumni Association and a Life Member of the Texas State Historical Association. Ben holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from The University of Texas at Austin, 1980.